10 Amazing 80s Computer Games We All Remember Playing!

When home computers burst onto the scene we were all smitten! We couldn't get enough games for our chosen platform. Some people even wrote their own games in their bedroom and sold them for lots of money! We didn't mind waiting 10 minutes for them to load from a tape, we didn't even really mind when we got a tape error and had to start again! So whether you were into Spectrum, Commodore, Amstrad or any other computer available at the time you probably loved to play these 10 80s computer games!

Paperboy 80s Computer Games

80s computer gamesPaperboy is a 1985 arcade game developed and published by Atari Games.  The player takes the role of a paperboy who delivers a fictional newspaper called "The Daily Sun" along a suburban street on his bicycle. The game was ported to a wide range of video game consoles and personal computers. The Nintendo Entertainment System version is the first NES game developed in the United States, and the Sega Master System version represented the first SMS game developed in the United Kingdom. Paperboy is notable for its unusual theme, which extends to using bike handlebars as the controller. A sequel for home computers and consoles, Paperboy 2, was released in 1991-2. The player controls a paperboy on a bicycle delivering newspapers along a suburban street. The player attempts to deliver a week of daily newspapers to subscribing customers, attempts to vandalize non-subscribers' homes and must avoid hazards along the street. Subscribers are lost by missing a delivery or damaging a subscriber's house.
READ  10 80s Sweets and Crisps We All Bought!

Daley Thompson's Decathlon

daley_thompson Daley Thompson's Decathlon is a computer game developed and released under licence by Ocean Software in 1984. It was released in the wake of Daley Thompson's popularity following his gold medals in the decathlon at the 1980 and 1984 Olympic Games. A sequel, Daley Thompson's Super-Test, was released in 1985.The player takes part in the ten events of the modern decathlon:Day 1: 100 metres, long jump, shot put, high jump, and 400 metres Day 2: 110 hurdles, pole vault, discus, javelin, and 1500 metres The player starts the game with three lives; failure to reach the minimum standard in an event results in the loss of one life. Success in the 1500 meters event results in the game returning to Day 1 to repeat the events with more difficult qualification criteria. Depending on the computer, running is simulated by hitting two keys (representing the left and right leg) alternately and as quickly as possible or by moving the joystick from side to side as quickly as possible. The game rapidly gained a reputation among players as a "joystick killer" because of the constant vigorous waggling of the joystick required during many of the events. 

Chuckie Egg


As Hen-House Harry, the player must collect the twelve eggs positioned in each level, before a countdown timer reaches zero. In addition there are piles of seed which may be collected to increase points and stop the countdown timer for a while, but will otherwise be eaten by hens that patrol the level, causing them to pause. If the player touches a hen or falls through a gap in the bottom of the level, he loses a life. Each level is made of solid platforms, ladders and occasionally lift platforms that constantly move upwards but upon leaving the top of the screen will reappear at the bottom. Hitting the top of the screen while on one of these lifts, however, will also cause the player to lose a life.
READ  10 Cartoons 80s Kids Loved To Watch!
Eight levels are defined and are played initially under the watch of a giant caged duck. Upon completion of all eight the levels are played again without hens, but Harry is now pursued by the freed duck who is not affected by the positioning of platforms. A second completion of all eight levels yields a third play through with both hens and the duck. A fourth pass introduces additional hens. Finally, a fifth pass has the duck and additional hens moving at a greater speed. If the player completes all forty levels then they advance to 'level 41' which is in fact exactly the same as level 33. The player starts with five lives, and an extra life is awarded every 10,000 points.

Leave your vote

Like it? Share with your friends!


Log in

You’ll be automatically logged in 5 seconds.

Forgot password?

Forgot your password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy


    Processing files…